Schedule

* This schedule is subject to change.

Wk Day Date Time Event Place Note
1 Mon June 03 09:00 - 16:30 Orientation 550 PGH (Directions)
1 Tue June 04 11:00 - 12:00 REU Seminar: Detecting Targeted Attacks with Machine Learning: Overview and Real-World Examples, by Yinnon Meshi, Palo Alto Networks 550 PGH
1 Wed June 05 09:00 - 10:00 REU Program Evaluation, Dr. Catherine Horn, UH 550 PGH
1 Fri June 07 11:00 - 12:00 REU Seminar: Machine Learning: How Machines Learn from Data, by Dr. Stephen Huang, University of Houston 550 PGH
1 Fri June 07 12:00 - 13:00 Friday Lunch Meeting 550 PGH
2 Thu June 13 10:00 - 13:00 GRE Class I 550 PGH
2 Fri June 14 11:30 - 12:00 REU Mentors Short Talks: Prof. Rizk 550 PGH
2 Fri June 14 12:00 - 13:00 Friday Lunch Meeting 550 PGH
2 Fri June 14 13:00 - 13:30 REU Mentors Short Talks: Prof. Leiss 550 PGH
3 Thu June 20 15:00 - 17:00 GRE Class II 550 PGH
3 Fri June 21 11:00 - 12:00 REU Mentors Short Talks: Prof. Verma and Prof. Pavlidis 550 PGH
3 Fri June 21 12:00 - 13:00 Friday Lunch Meeting 550 PGH
4 Thu June 27 15:00 - 17:00 GRE Class III 550 PGH
4 Fri June 28 11:00 - 12:00 REU Workshop: "Demystifying Writing for Computer Science majors: a breakdown of technical writing and tips for a better research paper", by Johnathan Richards, Writing Center, University of Houston 550 PGH
4 Fri June 28 12:00 - 13:00 Friday Lunch Meeting 550 PGH
5 Tue July 2 10:00 - 13:00 GRE Class IV 550 PGH
6 Fri July 12 11:00 - 12:00 REU Seminar: Autonomous Monitoring of Data Center Operations, by Dr. Rong Zheng, McMaster University, Canada 563 PGH
6 Fri July 12 12:00 - 13:00 Friday Lunch Meeting 550 PGH
6 Fri July 12 13:00 - 14:00 Midterm Project Presentations 550 PGH
7 Thu July 18 11:00 - 12:00 REU Workshop: "A Primer on Posters and Presentations" by Dr. Chad Wilson, UH 550 PGH
7 Fri July 19 07:30 - 13:00 REU Field Trip - NASA Johnson Space Center (JSC) JSC Agenda, Moody Tower Departure Instruction
7 Fri July 19 13:00 - 14:30 Field Trip Lunch
8 Fri July 26 11:30 - 12:00 REU Mentors Short Talks: Prof. Kakadiaris 550 PGH
8 Fri July 26 12:00 - 13:00 Friday Lunch Meeting 550 PGH
9 Tue July 30 12:45 - 16:00 REU Field Trip: ConocoPhillips Visit 925 N Eldridge Pkwy, Houston, TX 77079
9 Thu August 1 13:45 - 19:00 Bayou Startup Showcase 1400 Brittmoore Road, Houston, TX 77043 RSVP, Moody Tower Departure Instruction, Parking Instruction
9 Fri August 2 09:30 - 14:30 Graduate Study Workshop 550 PGH
10 Mon August 5 Noon Poster Submission Submit to Zechun
10 Mon August 5 13:00 - 14:00 (Optional) TCSUH Special Seminar: The Booming of AI/ML and How They Relate to Physics, by Dr. Yuan-Yen Tai Room 102, Houston Science Center
10 Mon August 5 13:00 - 14:30 REU Program Evaluation, Dr. Catherine Horn, UH 550 PGH
10 Thu August 8 14:00 - 15:00 Poster Exhibition PGH 5th Floor Hallway
10 Fri August 9 09:45 - 12:00 Final Project Presentation 550 PGH
10 Fri August 9 12:00 - 12:30 Friday Lunch Meeting and Poster Awards 550 PGH
10 Fri August 9 12:30 - 13:30 REU Survey 550 PGH
10 Fri August 9 13:30 - 14:00 Meeting with mentors to submit project deliverables. 550 PGH
Acknowledgement: This project is sponsored by NSF under awards NSF-0453498, NSF-0755500, NSF-1062954, NSF-1359199 and NSF-1659755. Special thanks to the following UH offices for providing financial support to the project: Department of Computer Science; College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics; Dean of Graduate and Professional Studies; VP for Research; and the Provost's Office. The University of Houston is an equal opportunity/affirmative action institution. Women and underrepresented minority students are strongly encouraged to apply.